Day 41: Kisangani

Traveled: 11 km
Cumulative: 2788 km

 

We did laundry all day. It took us well over an hour as we even washed the red clay from our equipment, bike and bags. Later in the afternoon, we went for a stroll with Emmanuel on Chopo Beach, then the supermarket, then Marie-Louise’s. She had cooked delicious fish but no drinks and the cost was 10$. That’s some pretty easy money for her.

Outside, we chatted with Jonathan till 10pm again. I didn’t sleep at all that night because it was so disgustingly humid. And for the first time, ACs were available and we cheaped out with the standard room. That night, despite the mosquito net, I got over 40 mosquito bites to my feet and lower legs. I reckon this had to do with the supper we had outside at Marie-Louise’s in the dark. I was wearing ¾ pants and the bites are exactly under the hem of my pants and below… You live and learn.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kyrie says:

    I just read the last few entries… Your trip sounds sooo amazing and your pictures are awesome. I read a while ago about someone who took a similar trip on motorcycle and I really wanted to do something similar but was really uncertain about logistics, safety, time, etc etc.

Leave a comment